The Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 pool allocation draw took place at Belfast City Hall on Wednesday, 9 November. The 12 participating teams were drawn into three pools of four teams. The top seven teams from WRWC 2014 in France were seeded for the draw based on that ranking, while the remaining teams were ranked according to the final position of their regional representative at the tournament.

Teams were placed into one of four bowls based on their seeding as below:

Bowl 1 (Seeds one-three) – England (2014 champions), Canada (2014 runners-up) and France

Bowl 2 (Seeds four-six) – Ireland, New Zealand and USA

Bowl 3 (Seeds seven-nine) – Australia, Italy and Wales

Bowl 4 (Seeds 10-12) – Spain, Japan and Hong Kong

The bands were drawn in reverse order, starting from band four, with the first team drawn placed in Pool A, the second in Pool B and the remaining team in Pool C.  The draw was made by World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont, former Ireland captain and WRWC 2017 Ambassador Fiona Coghlan, England’s WRWC 2014 winner Maggie Alphonsi and Olympic gold medallist Dame Mary Peters.