Captain Niamh Briggs is one of 12 players with previous Women’s Rugby World Cup experience as Ireland look to become the first host nation to win the tournament in its 26-year history.

The Munster full-back, who features on a commemorative stamp for WRWC 2017, is set to compete in her third Women’s Rugby World Cup along with Claire Molloy, Marie-Louise Reilly and Nora Stapleton, the quartet having been involved in both 2010 and 2014, while Ailis Egan, Heather O'Brien, Sophie Spence, Ashleigh Baxter, Paula Fitzpatrick, Alison Miller, Larissa Muldoon and Jenny Murphy were involved at France 2014.

“Playing in a World Cup is huge, being captain is huge and playing in a home one is a generational thing. Hopefully our performances on the pitch will see us improve on last time (when Ireland finished fourth),” said Briggs.

Head coach Tom Tierney has also named several players with sevens experience in his squad. Hannah Tyrrell, Katie Fitzhenry, Sene Naoupu, Baxter and Miller all made appearances on this season's HSBC World Rugby Women's World Sevens Series, and there is also a place for uncapped scrum-half Nicole Cronin.

"Over the past three seasons we have been conscious of the need to build and develop a squad for this tournament, and as a result of the programme many players have had the opportunity to prepare for this moment and play international rugby and show their skills at the highest level,” said Tierney.

“We have named players who have been here before and are aware of the challenge that lies ahead, and then there are a number of players in the squad for whom this will be their first ever World Cup and I am extremely confident they will compete for starting positions throughout the campaign.

“The players have been training consistently over the past number of months, and we have had a preparation that is far more comprehensive than previous campaigns. The anticipation and excitement has been building steadily amongst the players and the programme has provided us every opportunity, so it is now up to us to put our best foot forward during this campaign.

“The opportunity to play in a World Cup on home soil is a once in a lifetime opportunity, and while we are in a tough pool with Australia, Japan and our Six Nations rivals France, I am sure the players will rise to the occasion in front of their home fans.”

Ireland squad

Forwards: Ashleigh Baxter, Anna Caplice, Ciara Cooney, Ailis Egan, Paula Fitzpatrick, Ciara Griffin, Leah Lyons, Claire Molloy, Cliodhna Moloney, Heather O'Brien, Ciara O'Connor, Ruth O'Reilly, Lindsay Peat, Marie-Louise Reilly, Sophie Spence.

Backs: Niamh Briggs (captain), Eimear Considine, Mairead Coyne, Nicole Cronin, Jeamie Deacon, Katie Fitzhenry, Claire McLaughlin, Alison Miller, Larissa Muldoon, Jenny Murphy, Sene Naoupu, Nora Stapleton, Hannah Tyrrell.