Fiao'o Fa'amausili (pictured centre) will appear at her fifth Women's Rugby World Cup after being named as captain of the Black Ferns for the 9-26 August tournament in Ireland.

The 36-year-old Auckland hooker is currently third on the all-time appearances list with 47, behind Anna Richards and Emma Jensen (both 49 caps), but will now get the chance to become the first Black Fern to reach the half-century mark.

Fa'amausili has led the side since 2012 and captained them to a second-place finish on home soil at the recent International Women's Rugby Series.

Black Ferns coach Glenn Moore said June’s series against Canada, England and Australia had provided the squad with much-needed international competition in preparation for WRWC 2017.

“We won two tests and lost one. We were disappointed to lose to England, but now we know what we need to work on and where our strengths lie," he said.

“Everyone who’s been selected today deserves their spot. We have the right combination of players, many with lots of experience to draw on. We know how tough the task ahead is and we are excited for the challenge. 

“We take nothing for granted and the players have been training hard all year, and have continued to play club rugby since the June series finished to maintain match fitness.

“We are determined to do our fans, families and our country proud.”

Half of the squad have played in a Women's Rugby World Cup before, among them Kelly Brazier who is one of four Rio 2016 Olympic Games silver medallists selected by Moore. The others are sevens captain Sarah Goss, Theresa Fitzpatrick and former World Rugby Women's Sevens Player of the Year Portia Woodman.

The Black Ferns have won four Women's Rugby World Cups, from 1998-2010, but missed out on the semi-finals for the first time in 2014 after losing to Ireland and had to settle for fifth place overall. They will face Wales, Hong Kong and 2014 runners-up Canada in Pool C.

New Zealand squad

Forwards: Aldora Itunu, Toka Natua, Aleisha Nelson, Sosoli Talawadua, Fiao'o Fa'amausili (captain), Becky Wood, Charmaine Smith, Eloise Blackwell, 
Charmaine McMenamin, Les Ketu, Linda Itunu, Rawinia Everitt,  Sarah Goss, Te-Kura Ngata-Aerengamate, Aroha Savage, Aotearoa (Katie) Mata'u.

Backs: Stacey Waaka, Kelly Brazier, Victoria Subritzky-Nafatali, Kendra Cocksedge, Kristina Sue (Manawatu), Hazel Tubic, Renee Wickliffe, Portia Woodman, Selica Winiata, Carla Hohepa, Theresa Fitzpatrick, Chelsea Alley.