Welcome to the Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 website, containing everything you need to know about rugby's pinnacle 15s women's tournament. This page will be a helpful resource that aims to provide all rugby fans and media organisations with information about the showcase event.


The hosting rights to Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 were awarded to the Irish Rugby Football Union (IRFU) in May 2015.


World Rugby is the global governing body for the sport of rugby worldwide and owner of Rugby World Cup. With 121 national unions affiliated through six regional associations, World Rugby is responsible for the development and growth of rugby worldwide, the guardians of its regulations and laws and major international events, including Rugby World Cup tournaments, the men’s and women’s sevens series, Pacific Nations Cup, Nations Cup, U20 Championship and several others. Headquartered in Dublin, Ireland, World Rugby is investing a record £340 million in the development of the game between 2009-2016 in order that more men, women, and children can participate. 


The Irish Rugby Football Union is the host for Women's Rugby World Cup 2017, and will manage and deliver the four-week tournament, hosted in both Dublin in the Republic of Ireland and Belfast in Northern Ireland.


Media Accreditation for the event has been completed. If you have any questions please get in touch with one of the contacts below. 


World Rugby Tournament Communications Manager: Eoin McHugh (eoin.mchugh@worldrugby.org)

Irish Rugby Football Union: Stephen McNamara (Stephen.McNamara@irfu.ie) and Maria Boland (Maria.Boland@irfu.ie)