Hohepa named IRB Women's Personality of Year

(IRB.COM) Sunday 5 September 2010
 Hohepa named IRB Women's Personality of Year
Carla Hohepa, a World Cup winner and IRB Women's Personality of the Year 2010 - Photo: Martin Seras Lima

New Zealand's Carla Hohepa has today been named the IRB Women's Personality of the Year 2010, the third of the prestigious IRB Awards in association with Emirates Airline to be presented this year.

Hohepa was presented with the Award after the Women's Rugby World Cup final which saw New Zealand narrowly beat England 13-10 at the Twickenham Stoop in London.

Hohepa finished the tournament as joint leading try scorer with seven, including a leap across the whitewash in the final after evading Rachael Burford and side-stepping Amy Turner to put New Zealand in front.

The 25-year-old fought off stiff competition to take the coveted award from England duo Maggie Alphonsi and Danielle Waterman and Australia's Nicole Beck.

"I can't take all the credit for it but it's an awesome honour to win this award. The whole team performance was fantastic, everyone has put 100% in and it showed out there today," said Hohepa on receiving the award.

Previous Winners of the IRB Women's Personality of the Year Award:

2009 - Debby Hodgkinson (Australia)
2008 - Carol Isherwood (England)
2007 - Sarah Corrigan (Australia)
2006 - Maggie Alphonsi(England)
2005 - Farah Palmer (New Zealand)
2004 - Donna Kennedy (Scotland)
2003 - Kathy Flores (USA)
2002 - Monique Hirovanaa (New Zealand)
2001 - Shelley Rae (England)