Scotland name Women's World Cup squad

(IRB.COM) Tuesday 22 June 2010
 Scotland name Women's World Cup squad
Scotland recently played a test series against South Africa

Scotland have announced a squad of 26 to participate in this year's Women's Rugby World Cup, to be held in England from 20 August to 5 September.

The squad is a mix of experienced campaigners, including Scotland's most capped rugby player Donna Kennedy (110 caps), and relatively new faces.

"There was a lot of debate and much time taken to make sure we got the squad right," said Scotland head coach, Gary Parker.

"One or two new players have earned selection, adding to the already intense competition for places.

"We were really keen for versatility behind the scrum - when you're limited to a small squad you're looking for those who can play two or three positions."

Following this season's Six Nations fixtures and two test matches against South Africa earlier this month, Parker has been happy with progress and the increased strength in depth.

"Katy Green, for example, played really well against South Africa, she's been training very hard and I'm full of admiration for her work ethic," Parker added. "And Suzi Newton is back after a long term injury, she's a quality international player."

As final preparation for the World Cup, Scotland Women take on Ireland in a non-cap encounter on Sunday 18 July at Lasswade. They can then turn their attentions to the tournament proper and pool encounters against France, Sweden and Canada.

"It's going to be a huge ask against these teams with France and Canada in the top six in the world.

"We may have beaten France earlier this year but that means nothing now. In my playing days I was fortunate to be part of an Under 19 side that beat France, three months later we played them in the World Cup and lost 69-0. What happened in February doesn't mean a thing!"

Scotland Women Rugby World Cup squad: Alison Macdonald (RHC Cougars), Beth Dickens (Murrayfield Wanderers), Celia Hawthorn (Edinburgh University), Donna Kennedy (Worcester), Erin Kerr (London Wasps), Gillian McCord (RHC Cougars), Heather Lockhart (Hillhead Jordanhill), Katy Green (Murrayfield Wanderers), Keri Holdsworth (Watsonians), Lindsay Wheeler (Darlington Mowden Sharks), Louise Dalgliesh (RHC Cougars), Louise Moffat (Murrayfield Wanderers), Lucy Millard (Team Northumbria), Lynne Reid (RHC Cougars), Lynsey Douglas (London Wasps), Nicola Halfpenny (Melrose), Rosalind Murphy (Edinburgh University), Ruth Slaven (Murrayfield Wanderers), Sarah Gill (Murrayfield Wanderers), Sarah-Louise Walker (Watsonians), Stephanie Johnston (Hillhead Jordanhill), Susannah Brown (Richmond), Suzi Newton (Team Northumbria), Tess Forsberg (Murrayfield Wanderers), Tanya Griffith (RHC Cougars), Veronica Fitzpatrick (RHC Cougars)