Record interest for Women’s RWC 2014

(IRB.COM) Monday 21 December 2009
 Record interest for Women’s RWC 2014
New Zealand are bidding along with USA, Samoa and Kazakhstan to host the 2014 Women's Rugby World Cup

The International Rugby Board has confirmed that the four Unions who entered the race to host Women's Rugby World Cup 2014 last month have progressed to the next stage of the tender process.

Kazakhstan, New Zealand, Samoa and USA have expressed their formal intention to tender to host the premier 15-a-side tournament for women.

"We have never enjoyed such high interest in hosting Women's Rugby World Cup at a time when the Women's Game is experiencing rapid global popularity and growth," said Rugby World Cup Limited Chairman Bernard Lapasset.

"The Rugby family is looking forward to being in London next year for Women's Rugby World Cup 2010, which will be the biggest tournament to date. The host of Women's Rugby World Cup 2014 will inherit a strong competition from England with great players, exceptional female officials and a whole set of new supporters."

The level of interest is another significant boost for Women's Rugby World Cup following the phenomenal rise in participation and the introduction of Women's Rugby World Cup Sevens this year, plus Olympic Games inclusion.

"We are working closely with the RFU to deliver a wonderful tournament in August and September, which will showcase all that is great about the Women's Game," said IRB Women's Development Manager Susan Carty.

"All the Unions bidding for Women's Rugby World Cup 2014 have a rich heritage of Women's Rugby in their countries, and we can look forward to back-to-back successful tournaments."

Previous hosts of Women's Rugby World Cup

- Wales (1991)
- Scotland (1994)
- Netherlands (1998)
- Spain (2002)
- Canada (2006)