Wallaroos unveil first WRWC training squad

(IRB.COM) Friday 18 October 2013
 Wallaroos unveil first WRWC training squad
Rebecca Smyth and Rebecca Clough helped Australia finish third at Women's Rugby World Cup 2010 in England

Wallaroos head coach Paul Verrell has unveiled his first training squad for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 in France, one which contains a healthy mix of youth and experience with a number of players returning from Australia’s best finish of third at the 2010 showpiece.

“Last month’s National Women’s Championship provided a high standard and a great platform for selection. This level of play made the selection process challenging, but it’s a good problem to have,” insisted Verrell.

“We’ve identified a strong group of women, and I am looking forward to bringing them to our first camp early next year to prepare to challenge for the top spot in the International Series against New Zealand and Canada in May and June.

“We finished third in the last World Cup, so we’re looking to improve that position next year and the International Series will be a great opportunity for us to assess form and see what areas of our game we need to focus on to come home with the World Cup next August.”

Players who were involved in the last edition of the Women’s Rugby World Cup in England include Tricia Brown, Cheyenne Campbell, Rebecca Clough, Ashleigh Hewson, Danielle Meskell, Tui Ormsby, Rebecca Smyth (née Trethowan), Caroline Vakalahi and Margaret Watson.

Newcomers to the squad have a varied background from club rugby to Australian Services rugby. They will train alongside their teammates at sessions conducted by senior state-based coaches in the lead up to the first camp in February 2014.  

Australia training squad for WRWC 2014

Michelle Perry (ACT), Louise Burrows (ACT), Shellie Millward (ACT), Margaret Watson (NSWC), Rebecca Smyth (NSWC), Aimee Gilbert (QLD), Delena Dennison (QLD), Mel Kawa (QLD), Cheyenne Campbell (QLD), Nareeta Masters (QLD), Tricia Brown (QLD), Catherina Prinsloo (SA), Eva Karpani (SA), Tuainekore Ina Mata (SYD), Sarah Laman (SYD), Victoria Latu (SYD), Ashleigh Hewson (SYD), Mahalia Murphy (SYD), Chloe Butler (SYD), Danielle Meskell (SYD), Emily Robinson (SYD), Michelle Bailey (SYD), Simaima Taufa (SYD), Kenina Terita (SYD), Patricia Raikadroka (SYD), Tui Ormsby (SYD), Oneata Schwalger (VIC), Ashely Marsters (VIC), Rebecca Clough (WA), Madeline Putz (WA), Alisha Hewett (ASRU), Brooke Saunders (ASRU), Caroline Vakalahi (ASRU), Hayley Sullivan (ASRU), Mollie Gray (ASRU).