Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 – qualified team

(IRB.COM) Tuesday 22 January 2013

Qualified Teams

The 12 teams are now known for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 in France.

Six qualified automatically with the other six places to be filled through a qualifying process.

The automatic qualifiers were:

- New Zealand (2010 champions)
- England (2010 runners-up)
- Australia (2010 bronze medallists)
- France (2014 hosts)
- USA and Canada by virtue of their top six finish at WRWC 2010

Ireland and Wales confirmed their places by finishing as the best two sides outside of England and France across the 2012 and 2013 Women’s Six Nations championships.

The other two Six Nations teams – Scotland and Italy – joined Spain, Sweden, the Netherlands and Samoa in a six-team qualifying tournament in Madrid in April 2013 from which two teams would qualify for WRWC 2014. Spain and Samoa emerged as the top two teams in the standings to qualify.

The two remaining places were filled by South Africa and Kazakhstan in September 2013.

South Africa beat Uganda 63-3 in the African qualifier at Buffalo City Stadium in East London on 7 September, the same day as Kazakhstan edged Japan 25-23 in Almaty in the final of the Asian regional qualifier.